Blight hitting American Beech

 

I’m sad to report a blight is ravaging our native stands of American Beech here  in the Midwest. Here’s a link to an article by Jim McCormac updating what we know right now.

About walkerg

Woodworker and writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blight hitting American Beech

  1. Thanks for sharing George. I’ll be on the lookout. Have you seen it down your way?

    • Shawn,
      I’ve been off the grid for a week so sorry for the late reply. I have been watching a stand of old growth beech here in Stark county take a beating with many giant trees dying off. Wasn’t sure what was happening, but sadly it doesn’t sound like our forestry people know either. Since beech is not an important source of commercial lumber like oak or ash, I suspect it isn’t getting as much attention.

      George

Comments are closed.