Design Critique Feb 2015

IMG_0829

It’s been a while since I posted work on this blog for a critique. For those of you new to this, I offer to post pictures of readers projects and invite any and all to offer constructive feedback. By constructive, I mean you can offer up any thoughts you have as long as they are paired with thoughtful reasons. For example, you can say what you don’t like about it, IF you offer suggestions or at least hints at what you would do to improve it. Likewise your thoughts on what you like about a work are welcome, but please expand on why. Critiques can be invaluable to the person offering up their work, but also to those giving feedback as it helps you to think deeply about what does or doesn’t work. With that said I’ll let Tom Morris give a short introduction in his own words. Your thoughtful comments are appreciated. These projects are architectural interior details. I’m posting Tom’s rendering and then a photo of the work itself.

First, I am not a carpenter, I am an painter/artist.  I got this job to help in the design of a large house in the country.  Without going into detail, I have done brick work, interior room design, and even a small outside garden building. On the inside of the house I have designed a lot of finish work as well as built ins.  I think I will be designing some free standing furniture in the future.  So  thought it would be fun to get  response to some of the things I have done which are basically built ins. All the designs where done for specific spaces, i.e. the size and dimension of the spaces already existed.


IMG_0830
IMG_0066IMG_1808
IMG_7460
IMG_1802IMG_0096

About walkerg

Woodworker and writer
This entry was posted in design critique. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Design Critique Feb 2015

  1. Polly Becton says:

    About the alcove on the stair, the middle two photos:
    To my eye, the moldings of the alcove seem to clash with the moldings on the top and bottom of the wainscoting. (The profile on the bottom of the wainscoting is not clear, so I have assumed near congruity with the top.)
    In my mind’s eye, if the forms were more similar, it would be a step in the right direction; if they tied together physically in some fashion, the result would be stronger still. For the bright finish on the alcove and the white finish on the molding above and below, a certain clash is inevitable, but when the colors and the profiles are both mismatched, it seems too much to me.

    • Tom Morris says:

      Thanks for the response Polly. I think you are right. I thought of it as an individual piece and I probably should have thought of it as part of a whole. Everything was built except the niche. I still don’t know how we are going to fill the gap between the wainscoting and the niche.

      The wall behind the niche is curve and the wall behind the wainscoting is flat. The clinet did not want to use any curve pieces of wood and he wanted the wood to match the mahgomay of doors not seen in the photos. He wanted a piece furniture. Because of the curve there were a lot of issues with the depth of the piece. The egg dart on the cap of wainscoting is plaster, and I did not want to place the plaster on the mahgomay as it will be stained eventually. Plus the top of the niche is marble. Once the perimeters where set that is what I designed too.
      Thanks
      Tom

  2. JSmith says:

    At first glace my reaction was that the images are so small it is difficult to assess them and that because the projects are built-ins it would be very useful if some programmatic context was provided, (ie what beyond the fixed spaces did the designs need to accommodate, etc.)? Perhaps instead of posting all three at once each could be posted separately with additional text and photos showing the details (both as drawn and executed) so that a more considered opinion could be rendered.

    Looking more carefully, it is clear that there are both major and minor differences between the drawings and what was actually built. Which begs the question as to how and why did the changes occur?

    • Tom Morris says:

      Yes JSimth all the pieces fit into a room context. And certain parts were not finished when I took the photos, like the paneling on the right hand side of the tv cabinet.(the third image). And the top photo is part of a larger arrangement that will eventually be painted. Plus I took the photos with an IPhone and there is a lot of distortion , i.e. the tapering affect from top down. I really felt the distortion when I saw the photos posted above the wonderful drawing George used in his pervious post.
      Thanks

Comments are closed.