Awesome carved bowls

Lead option 2

Last year I had the pleasure of spending time with Dave Fisher in his workshop. It’s a feeble attempt to try to explain his work with this photo. You only get  this one static look that doesn’t capture the sparkle of sunlight bouncing off the curved forms or the messages only your hands can read.  Dave recently started a blog (Link) about his craft journey. Regardless of your interest in carved wooden bowls, he has a wealth of hard won knowledge about design, especially about incorporating curves in a design. He’s someone I pay close attention to. I must warn you though. After I spent a day in Dave’s shop I came away with more questions than I went in with.

Just a note, I’ll be teaching a design workshop at Richard Grell’s in Hudson Ohio on the 26th & 27th of January and there are still a few spots available. Also, I’ll be in Phoenix in Feb at the Southwest School of Woodworking. Still have a few open spots in that design workshop also. Hope to see you there.

 

George R. Walker

 

About walkerg

Woodworker and writer
This entry was posted in Design Basics, design workshops. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Awesome carved bowls

  1. Terry Dote says:

    I am signed up for your class and I am curious if you will have copies of your book for purchase at that class as I would very much like to buy one. Thanks, Terry Dote.

  2. knuxie tuxie says:

    Thanks for the great information. I’m always looking for fresh ideas and can’t wait to give some of these a try. Personally, I like to take cheap or free wood and “reclaim” it into cool woodworking projects, like island counters, tables, etc. Here’s an example of what I mean:

    http://www.thewoodworkerscorner.com

Comments are closed.