Interview on The Highland Woodworker

BH&E2

Last Spring I had an interview with Charles Brock from The Highland Woodworker lined up, so  I took a cue from Ron Breese and deep cleaned the workshop. Ron mentioned that he touched every thing in the shop and I vowed to do the same. It quickly reached a point I call the “Nadir”, with the usual side effects of self loathing and regret. Seventy two trips up the stairs to assemble a pile of junk visible from outer space and everything that escaped execution got scrubbed, scraped, and put right. Why didn’t I do this years ago?

Oh by the way, we had fun filming this segment for The Highland Woodworker and they even managed to make this old snapping turtle look respectable. Take a look.

http://thehighlandwoodworker.com/new-the-highland-woodworker-episode-14/

The interview begins at 25:35

Note: Many of the furniture shots were from some of the fine folks who allowed Jim and I to display their work in our book By Hand & Eye. The curly maple desk and tall clock are pieces I made.

George R. Walker

About walkerg

Woodworker and writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview on The Highland Woodworker

  1. Dave Fisher says:

    Great job with the interview, George. It was nice to see your spic-and-span shop as well as a couple of your furniture pieces. Absolutely stunning desk and clock.

  2. Mike says:

    Nice segment George. Yes, I loved the desk and clock as well. Keep up the teaching, you are a true inspiration!

Comments are closed.