Great interveiw with Jim Tolpin

Design - Back to Basics 2

It seems like yesterday I was wrapping up my keynote address on furniture design to a packed house in Chicago. Then a woodworker down in front raised his hand and posed a question I didn’t know the answer to. A little embarrassed, my brain froze and I fumbled through an awkward ” I don’t know”.  The woodworker was Jim Tolpin and he hung around after the event and peppered me with more questions I didn’t know the answers to. That was the beginning of a great new friendship that eventually led to the two of us collaborating on our book “By Hand & Eye. They say that co-writing a book is a recipe for wrecking a friendship, but  in our case we must have lost that recipe. As the project reached that point where it’s a slog (as all books do), my respect for Jim increased as his inquisitive mind and generosity of spirit rubbed off on me.

Charles Brock interviewed Jim for the November edition of The Highland Woodworker . It’s worth a look.

George R. Walker

About walkerg

Woodworker and writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.