Spoiled…in a good way

Super Chute clamped to the north end of my workbench

Back in the mid 70’s just out of high school I took off for Montana on a teenage lark. My brother helped me land a job on a sprawling cattle ranch. Can’t say I was much of an asset on a working livestock operation but they did need young strong backs and I was keen to explore the Rockies. Looking back I had an incredible experience that was largely wasted on youth, but I do have memories of some amazing trout fishing. The native trout were not large, mostly frying pan size but they were plentiful. You could catch rainbows in a ditch. A small creek bubbled behind the bunkhouse and it took only a few minutes to fill a bucket with fresh trout.  

Fishing like that has a downside. It spoiled me. Those crystal clear streams and shiny dancing rainbow trout will forever haunt my memories.

Super Chute with UHMV bed for plane runway and 45 degree mitre attachment.

Recently I purchased a Super Chute from Tico Vogt at Vogt Toolworks. If you are not familiar with a shooting board it’s a classic bench accessory that can turn a hand plane into a precision trimming instrument. It is capable of much higher precision than you can achieve with power tool methods and as an added bonus allows you to form precise miters on small parts without putting digits in the vicinity of a whirling cutter. It allows you to make controlled cuts and achieve dead tight precision joinery. It’s especially helpful if you do work with small drawers or any kind of work that will be scrutinized up close. I had been using a shop made shooting board that was basically a bench hook. Not any more. It spoiled me.

The Super chute has a number of well thought out features. It fastens securely to my workbench with just a single clamp that’s positioned out of the way. The plane rides on a bed of UHMV so you hardly feel the friction of the tool, just the cutting action of the blade. It has accessories for cutting miters that attach quickly and securely. I have a feeling the north end of my bench will now have the Super Chute as a permanent fixture. I can now achieve crisp tight joints with ease. I highly recommend this tool to step up your game.

Donkey ear attachment installed on Super Chute.

A note of disclosure. I do not take tools as gifts in return for a review. I bought this tool because it looked like it could improve my work at the bench. It’s a truly impressive, well thought out machine.  Warning, once you try it you’ll be spoiled also. If you appreciate tight joinery and strive to do the best work, you should take a look at the Super Chute.

George R. Walker

4 Comments

Filed under tools

4 responses to “Spoiled…in a good way

  1. As my own personal note: Even if you did take tools for reviews, it wouldn’t in any way lead me to believe you were biased.

    I trust you reviews regardless. This was a good one and love stuff like this. I may go check it out.

  2. Looks trully impressive. I’ve seen this pop up on a few blogs with overall positive comments. It shouldn’t be too hard to copy and make your own. But gosh it’s nice just to have a precision tool arrive and get straight to work without taking time fiddling.

  3. George,

    My super chute arrived today and I am excited to try it out. I was torn on this one because this is one of those appliances you make yourself easily. Taking one look at Tico’s precision and style that went into this told me that I would never make a shooting board of this quality. I would rather make furniture than spend the time to make this tool so it is a perfect option for me. Can’t wait to break it in a little and see how she performs. I too long for those crystal clear Rocky Mtn streams full of Rainbows and Cutthroat so eager to rise to a fly that I left behind when I moved east. Maybe using this shooting board will ameliorate that longing eh?

    • Shannon,
      Not sure it will satify that urge to wet a fly line but creating things with your hands, with good tools and nice lumber comes pretty close.

      George